Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Leslie County History and Genealogy

Leslie County [Kentucky] was formed in 1878. The lower portion being taken from Harlan County, the northwestern part from Clay County and the northeastern section from Perry County.

The county seat of Leslie County is Hyden.

Hyden is located on US 421 and at the mouth of Rockhouse Creek, a branch of the Middle Fork of the Kentucky River. It was founded on John Lewis's farm in 1878 as the seat of the newly established county. Named for John Hyden (1814 - 1883), then state senator from Clay County and one of the commissioners appointed to establish Leslie County. The post office began operation in March 1879 with Leander Crawford as Postmaster. The town of Hyden was incorporated in 1882.

To visit the Leslie County USGenWeb site: Click Here.

No comments:

Post a Comment