Friday, September 4, 2009

Cumberland County History and Genealogy

Cumberland County is located in south-central Kentucky along the Tennessee state line. It has an area of 307 square miles. Cumberland County was formed on December 14, 1798, from a portion of Green County and named for the Cumberland River, which flows through the county. The county seat is Burkesville. The County is bordered by Adair County (north), Russell County (northeast), Clinton County (east), Clay County, TN (south), Monroe County (west), Metcalfe County (northwest). There are many small communties, such as Marrowbone, Grider, Kettle, Waterview, Bow, Hegria, Renox, Bakerton and the county seat of Burkesville.

The topography of Cumberland County varies from level river bottom to hilly terrain. Much of the land is covered with timber. Water sources in the county are the Cumberland River, Marrowbone Creek, and many smaller creeks and streams, plus the northern portion of the 27,000-acre Dale Hollow Lake.

The first settlers came into the region in the 1780s and early 1790s from Virginia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Maryland. In 1769, Daniel Boone explored the area that later became Cumberland County. According to local legend, the first settlers fought an intense battle with the Indians in 1790 about ten miles north of what is now Burksville. A daring rescue of a young girl from the Indians took place at Little Renox Falls. A group of settlers attacked the Indian captors of the girl, killed them, and saved the girl, suffering no casualties.

To visit the Cumberland County USGenWeb site: Click Here.

No comments:

Post a Comment