Friday, July 17, 2009

Virginia's Independent Cities

With the exception of three independent cities located elsewhere -- see comment below -- Virginia is the only state with independent cities. Independent cities are politically and administratively separate from the county or counties in which they are geographically located. Independent cities operate their own court system. As of now, there are thirty-nine independent cities in Virginia.

To view a current list of Virginia's independent cities with links and addresses where their records may be located: Click Here.

Note: This list is not entirely correct as it contains two former independent cities -- Clifton Forge and South Boston -- which gave up their charters and ceased to be independent.

1 comment:

  1. It's not a matter of reaching a population threshold. All Virginia municipalities incorporated as cities, as opposed to towns, are independent under the Virginia constitution. Thus, there are some relatively small independent cities and some relatively large non-independent towns in Virginia.