Monday, May 17, 2010

The Tennessee Blue Book

The Tennessee Blue Book is a publication which serves as a manual of useful information on our state and its government, both past and present. This edition contains information on the makeup of Tennessee state government. It also contains an expansive history section, the constitutions of the United States and Tennessee, the state’s symbols and honors, the most recent election returns, and census information.

The Blue Book is divided into seven sections:

The first three sections are devoted to the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government.

Section IV features the Tennessee Regulatory Authority.

Section V is devoted to the people who have been elected to represent Tennessee at the federal level of government.

Section VI contains a cumulative history which examines the development of the state from a wilderness to the present era, portraits and biographies of Tennessee’s former governors, various historic sites in Tennessee, symbols the state Legislature has selected as representative of Tennessee at its best, and the Tennessee Constitution.

Section VII details the results of elections held across the state in 2008 and 2009 and provides statistical information regarding the cities and counties of Tennessee.

The term Blue Book dates from the 15th century when the English Parliament began keeping its records in large volumes covered with blue velvet. Since that time the name Blue Book has been used to describe many forms of government manuals.

To consult the Tennessee Blue Book: Click Here.

Note: A PDF reader is required.

No comments:

Post a Comment